Seema Malhotra MP

Labour and Cooperative Member of Parliament for Feltham and Heston

Seema Malhotra MP Joins Brexit Committee


Seema Malhotra MP has been elected as one of the Labour members of the Parliamentary Select Committee for Exiting the European Union.

In a ballot of Labour MPs yesterday, Seema Malhotra MP was chosen as one of four MPs to join the new Select Committee to scrutinise the Department for Exiting the European Union.  The other MPs chosen were Pat McFadden MP, Emma Reynolds MP and Stephen Timms MP.  Hilary Benn MP was chosen as Chair in a separate exercise last week.  

Seema said: "I am proud to have been elected by Members of Parliament to join the new Select Committee for Exiting the European Union.  Whichever way you voted in the referendum, Brexit will dominate much of the political debate about the economy and trade, freedom of movement, opportunities for young people to work and travel and our defence and security.  We need to make sure that that debate is more reasoned, less toxic and intolerant than it has become. Britain is a confident nation proud of its place in the world and I want to see us continue to have the best possible relationship with Europe.”

The Conservative MPs go through a similar exercise to choose their Committee members this afternoon.


Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.